Tribal Consultation on Protecting the Native American Vote


Categories:

From the White House:

On March 7, 2021, the President issued an Executive Order on Promoting Access to Voting. The EO established an Interagency Steering Group on Native American Voting Rights (Steering Group). The charge of the Steering Group includes studying best practices for protecting voting rights of Native Americans and producing a report within 1 year of the date of this order outlining recommendations for providing such protection, consistent with applicable law. The Steering Group will engage in meaningful and robust consultation with Tribal Nations and Native leaders during this process and will include tribal recommendations in this report.

We hope that these questions will help set fruitful conversation during this consultation:

  1. Have you or members of your Tribe experienced difficulties voting in recent elections? What were those difficulties? Are you confident your ballot was counted? Why or why not?
  2. Have you or members of your Tribe experienced new difficulties in recent elections, interfering with your ability to cast a meaningful ballot?
  3. Have you or members of your Tribe taken any steps to address these problems, or to request assistance? If so, what were those steps and what was the result?
  4. What would you like to see happen to remedy these difficulties? 

Tribal Consultation Schedule 

  • Southwest, Western and Navajo Regions
    Date: Wednesday, June 2, 2021
    Time: 2:00PM-4:00PM ET / 11:00AM-1:00PM PT / 12:00PM-2:00PM MT
    Format: Zoom Webinar
    You can register for this session at the following link: https://pitc.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_kwoM2o2kSVaAOLRplLIHJg
  • Pacific, Northwest Regions
    Date: Wednesday, June 16, 2021
    Time: 2:00PM-4:00PM ET / 11:00AM-1:00PM PT / 12:00PM-2:00PM MT
    Format: Zoom Webinar
    You can register for this session at the following link:
    https://pitc.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_P3brzx2ZTj64vPCRwcchZA
  • Southern, Eastern Regions
    Date: Wednesday, July 14, 2021 (Tentative)
    Time: 2:00PM-4:00PM ET / 1:00PM-3:00PM CT
    Format: Zoom Webinar
  • Rocky Mountain Region
    Date: Wednesday, July 28, 2021(Tentative)
    Time: 2:00PM-4:00PM ET / 12:00PM-2:00PM MT
    Format: Zoom Webinar
  • Midwest Region
    Date: Wednesday, August 4, 2021 (Tentative)
    Time: 2:00PM-4:00PM ET / 1:00PM-3:00PM CT
    Format: In-person (Location TBD) or Zoom
  • Southern Plains Region
    Date: Wednesday, August 18, 2021 (Tentative)
    Time: 2:00PM-4:00PM ET / 1:00PM-3:00PM CT
    Format: In-person (Location TBD)
  • Great Plains Region
    Date: Wednesday, September 29, 2021 (Tentative)
  • BBB
  • Charity Navigator
  • Guidestar