Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate v Jewell

Attorney: John E. Echohawk, Melody McCoy

NARF represents 10 tribes – Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate; Quinault Indian Nation; White Earth Chippewa Nation; Oklahoma Kickapoo Tribe; Comanche Nation; Penobscot Indian Nation; Pueblo of Acoma; Seminole Tribe of Florida; Southern Ute Indian Tribe; and Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation — in this case filed April 30, 2013 in the federal district court for the District of Columbia seeking historical accountings of the tribes’ trust accounts, funds, and resources.

In November 2013, the government filed a Motion to Dismiss the case for lack of jurisdiction.  The tribes’ opposed dismissal.  The hearing on the Motion to Dismiss was held July 15, 2015, and on September 17, 2015, the court denied the government’s Motion to Dismiss.  On October 29, 2015, the parties jointly requested the court to stay further active litigation in this case while the parties engage in settlement negotiations of the tribes’ trust accounting and trust fund and asset mismanagement claims at the political level, and the court approved the stay on October 30, 2015.  The parties have since proceeded with their settlement negotiations.

Read More: Hold governments accountable to Native Americans

  • Better Business Bureau Accredited Charity
  • Charity Navigator: 3-Star Charity
  • Guidestar Transparency Seal