Virtual Circle on Peacemaking: A Free Webinar, April 24


Categories:

Tired of looking to the outside for answers? It’s time to turn around and look within your own communities for strength.

Webinar Session on:
Monday, April 24, 2017 at
12 pm PT / 1 pm MT / 2 pm CT / 3 pm ET
(90 minutes)
Register Online

 

Photo of peacemaking circle, close-up.Peacemaking is not alternative dispute resolution to Native communities – it is the original, traditional way our communities managed to work through disputes for centuries before tribal courts were created. Because of natural limitations inherent in tribal courts, there is increasing interest in the continuation and revitalization of those traditional ways.

The National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges and the National American Indian Court Judges Association invite you to a free webinar on Peace Circle Models. This webinar will explain how tribal traditions may hold a solution to some problems that have proven especially difficult in tribal court, provide some examples of how other tribes have had success, and explain how this movement is part of a bigger picture, even internationally, of how indigenous communities are using their own wisdom to solve their problems.  Speakers include  NARF Indigenous Peacemaking Initiative staff and advisory committee members.

Moderator:
  • Gina Jackson (Te-Moak Western Shoshone), Program Director, National American Court Judges Association
Faculty Presenters:
  • Hon. Cheryl Demmert Fairbanks (Tlingit/Tsimshian), Justice, Inter-Tribal Court of Appeals of Nevada
  • Hon. Robert Yazzie (Navajo), Chief Justice, Emeritus, Navajo Nation Supreme Court 
  • Brett Lee Shelton (Oglala Sioux Tribe), Staff Attorney, Indigenous Peacemaking Initiative, Native American Rights Fund, Tribal Appeals Court Justice
  •  Professor Shawn Watts (Cherokee), Columbia Law School,  Edson Queiroz Foundation Mediation Program